Friday, 30 October 2026News · Analysis · Public affairs · UKAboutTeamSourcesContactNewsletter

Imran Khan: Why He Was Removed and Where His Cases Stand

Ask five people about Imran Khan and you will likely get five different answers, which is exactly why the dated record matters. Lawmakers ended his term as prime minister in April 2022 after a no-confidence vote that passed with 174 votes, and a long run of court cases followed, so this piece lines up those parliamentary and court records in order.

Born: 5 October 1952, Lahore, Pakistan (Indian Express (biography page)) · Removed by: No-confidence vote in the National Assembly, April 2022 (Library of Congress (Global Legal Monitor)) · Party: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) (AP News (wire service)) · In custody: About three years (Pakistan Today (Pakistani daily))

Quick snapshot

1Confirmed facts
2What’s unclear
3Timeline signal
4What’s next
  • As of the 18 August 2026 Reuters report, all convictions but one had been suspended or overturned, with appeals pending (Reuters (international news agency))
  • The Supreme Court ordered a transfer from jail to hospital, according to his lawyer and PTI (Pakistan Today (Pakistani daily))
  • The outcome of the proposed PTI ban is not reported in the sources reviewed

Six dated facts anchor the record, and the later entries come from courts and an electoral regulator rather than from party statements.

Item Detail
Date and place of birth 5 October 1952, Lahore, Pakistan (Indian Express (biography page))
Term as prime minister 18 August 2018 to 10 April 2022 (Wikipedia (2022 Pakistani constitutional crisis))
Electoral disqualification Five years from standing for election, October 2022 (UK Parliament House of Commons Library (research briefing))
Toshakhana sentence Three years, 5 August 2023 (AP via St. Albert Gazette)
Cipher case 10 years for leaking a classified diplomatic cable, 30 January 2024 (NPR (US public radio news))
Land corruption case 14 years, 2025 (Reuters (international news agency))

Did Imran Khan come from a rich family?

Family money is the first question many readers ask, and the sources here answer it only in part.

Family background and early life

  • Khan was born on 5 October 1952 in Lahore, Pakistan, according to the Indian Express (biography page).
  • The reviewed sources do not describe his family’s finances, business holdings or any inherited wealth.
Check the birth date

The birth date rests on one biography page that this review rated low reliability, so confirm it against a second source before quoting it.

How many wives has Imran Khan had?

  • The court record names Bushra Bibi as his wife, and she was sentenced alongside him in the state gifts case (NPR (US public radio news)).
  • No source reviewed gives a verified count of marriages, so this article offers no number.

What this means: the only spouse the sources name appears in court cases, not in any family history.

Why was Imran Khan removed?

The removal came through a parliamentary vote, but the path to that vote ran through a constitutional fight over the vote itself.

The 2022 no-confidence vote

  • On 3 April 2022, Deputy Speaker Qasim Khan Suri dismissed the motion, ruling that it breached Article 5 over alleged foreign collusion tied to a diplomatic cipher (Library of Congress (Global Legal Monitor)).
  • On 7 April 2022 the Supreme Court declared the dismissal and the dissolution unconstitutional (Al Jazeera (international news network)).
  • The motion passed on 10 April 2022 with 174 votes, making Khan the first Pakistani prime minister removed by no-confidence motion (Wikipedia (2022 Pakistani constitutional crisis)).

Political background of the removal

  • Khan and his party allege the cases are politically motivated, a claim the military, the Shehbaz Sharif government and authorities deny (Wikipedia (Imprisonment of Imran Khan)).
  • The Supreme Court held that the revived motion stood and that a prime minister facing a no-confidence notice could not validly advise dissolution (Library of Congress (Global Legal Monitor)).
  • Reporting cited 174 of 342 lawmakers voting for his dismissal (OCCRP (investigative journalism network)).

“Instability will escalate and I foresee no resolution to the crisis.”

Fawad Chaudhry, Khan’s ally and Information Minister, in April 2022 (CNBC (US business news network))

The upshot

The court reversed the dismissal and restored the National Assembly, which put the motion back on the table. Readers who remember only the court headline miss the last step: parliament voted him out (Al Jazeera (international news network)).

Summary

Parliament removed Khan, not the courts: the Supreme Court restored the National Assembly, and its members then voted him out on 10 April 2022.

What this means: the removal turned on procedure, so the court’s real role was deciding which procedural steps counted.

How many years did Imran Khan serve?

The premiership ended by vote rather than at a general election, which makes its length easy to pin down.

Term dates as prime minister

  • Khan served from 18 August 2018 to 10 April 2022, just under three years and eight months (Wikipedia (2022 Pakistani constitutional crisis)).
  • The term ended in the National Assembly, which is why its end date is set by a vote and not by an electoral calendar (Library of Congress (Global Legal Monitor)).

The implication: the length depends on two dates that the sources report, so the figure needs no estimate.

What happened with Imran Khan?

Khan’s legal record since 2023 runs through several separate cases, and the sequence of rulings matters more than any single verdict.

Arrest and imprisonment since August 2023

  • On 5 August 2023 Khan was convicted in the Toshakhana case, sentenced to three years and arrested the same day (AP via St. Albert Gazette).
  • On 29 August 2023 the Islamabad High Court suspended that sentence pending appeal (BBC News (broadcaster)).

“Imran Khan used the time to delay the court proceedings and went back and forth to the high court and supreme court to halt this case.”

Maryam Aurangzeb, Information Minister, as reported by AP (via St. Albert Gazette)

Court cases and sentences

  • On 30 January 2024 Khan was sentenced to 10 years in the cipher case for leaking a classified diplomatic cable, a conviction Reuters later reported as overturned (NPR (US public radio news)).
  • On 31 January 2024 Khan and Bushra Bibi were sentenced to 14 years in the state gifts case (NPR (US public radio news)).
  • In February 2024 a trial court sentenced both to seven years in the unlawful marriage case; in July 2024 a court acquitted them (Reuters (international news agency)).
  • In 2025 Khan was sentenced to 14 years in the land corruption case tied to the Al-Qadir Trust. Prosecutors alleged the land was received as a bribe in exchange for returning 190 million pounds repatriated by Britain (Reuters (international news agency)).

“It merely demonstrates that these accusations are fabricated and serve as a means of political persecution.”

Babar Awan, Khan’s lawyer, on the September 2022 dismissal of terrorism charges (Reuters (international news agency))

Health reports cited by supporters and officials

Khan’s lawyer says he lost significant vision in his right eye while in custody. Reuters reports that a medical board later said the vision had improved, but the board’s own findings are not among the sources reviewed.

Bottom line: What this means: the health record rests on a lawyer’s account and one reported medical finding, so neither claim is independently confirmed.

What is Imran Khan doing these days?

The latest reports in the sources are dated 18 August 2026, so the status below reflects that date and nothing later.

Current legal status

  • As of the 18 August 2026 Reuters report, all convictions but one had been suspended or overturned, with appeals pending (Reuters (international news agency)).
  • The Supreme Court ordered a transfer from jail to hospital, according to his lawyer and PTI (Pakistan Today (Pakistani daily)).
  • Khan remains held at Adiala Jail in Rawalpindi as of August 2026, facing reported 180-plus cases (Wikipedia (Imprisonment of Imran Khan)).
Read the case count with care

Reported totals range from over 100 to 180-plus across sources, so any single figure claims more precision than the record supports.

The catch: the sources do not confirm whether the hospital order has been carried out or challenged.

Role of PTI in current politics

  • In July 2024 the government announced it intended to ban Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf over alleged illegal foreign funding, subject to Supreme Court approval (AP News (wire service)).
  • The outcome of the proposed ban is not reported in the sources reviewed.

What this means: whether PTI can continue depends on a Supreme Court decision that the sources reviewed do not report.

Related reading: Liz Truss 49-day premiership · What Happened to Matt Hancock? Career, Scandal, and Life Now

Additional sources

reuters.com, theglobeandmail.com

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Imran Khan’s net worth?

No verified figure appears in the sources reviewed, so this article gives no number.

Is Imran Khan a UK citizen?

No official source in the sources reviewed confirms his citizenship status, so this article does not state one.

How popular is Imran Khan in Pakistan?

The sources reviewed include no poll or survey of his standing in Pakistan, so this article offers no popularity measure.

What is Imran Khan suffering from?

The sources report one health claim: his lawyer says he lost significant vision in his right eye in custody. Reuters reports that a medical board later said the vision had improved, and no independent diagnosis appears in the sources reviewed.

Who has been the best PM of Pakistan?

The sources reviewed do not rank Pakistan’s prime ministers or set out agreed criteria. Any ranking depends on the measures chosen, such as economic record, court rulings or public support.



George Harry Howard Bennett
George Harry Howard BennettStaff Writer

George Harry Howard Bennett is a staff writer for Public Journal UK, specializing in UK news, policy analysis, and public affairs coverage. He works under Editor-in-Chief Margaret Ellison, maintaining high standards of sourcing, verification, and fact-checking. Bennett reports on Westminster, government policy, and societal issues, providing balanced and accurate journalism with timely insight.